top of page
  • Writer's pictureTheAnd1Podcast - Darryl

NBA Award Predictions

The NBA season starts in a few weeks and I think now is the perfect time to pick my winners for the end of season awards


MVP: Joel Embiid


Traditionally to win the MVP you need to have some solid stats and a top 3 seed in your conference and Joel Embiid will tick both of these boxes next season. The West is looking tough to predict whereas I feel that the 6ers will win the East. His stats will always be good on both sides of the ball and now with Jimmy Butler gone, Embiid will be the closer on the team and he is my favourite to win the MVP.


DPOY: Rudy Gobert


I'm calling it now, Gobert is going to 3-peat! Aside from being a great rebounder and rim protector, I feel like his competition for this award has decreased this season. Kawhi and PG may take time off to heal injuries and may also take it in turns defending the oppositions best wing player. Draymond Green is in with a chance but I feel like the Warriors team defence may let him down. This clears the way for Rudy to go back to back to back.


ROTY: Ja Morant


I know Zion is the favourite and probably already has some votes without a ball even being tipped off yet but I feel that Ja Morant will have a bigger impact in Memphis this year. Don't get me wrong, I expect the Pelicans to be a lot better than Memphis but ROTY is rarely about wins. I can see Ja being a real floor general for the Grizz and as much as I'm looking forward to Zion, his expectations may be greater than his reality.


6MOTY: Spencer Dinwiddie


6th man can sometimes be the hardest award to judge as line-up changes via injuries or tactics can alter the candidates. Lou Will is always a good shout but I feel that with Kawhi and PG, he will have less of an impact this year, my choice is Spencer Dinwiddie. Kyrie may struggle to adapt at first and Spencer Dinwiddie could be the perfect piece to play along-side him in late game situations. Dinwiddie off the bench provides one of the best back up PGs we have in the NBA and I can see him winning this award.


MIP: Justice Winslow


Another tough award to predict, my general rule is to pick a player in his 2nd or 3rd year as this is the perfect time for them to make a jump to the next level. My pick is Justise Winslow as I can see all of his stats increasing as well as Miami's wins.


COTY: Lloyd Pierce


I can see Atlanta making a substantial jump from 29 wins to low 40's this season largely in part to Trae Young but coach Pierce will get his homage too. A lot of teams have the capacity to be better this season but I can see the Hawks taking a big leap and if they make the playoffs it will only add to his chances of winning it.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2018 by TheAnd1Podcast. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page